My big bag of apples is slowly getting smaller, thanks in part to this recipe.  This recipe’s ingredients are really similar to an applesauce recipe but simmers for a good long time until the apples are dark and caramelized and a thick sauce is left. 

I peeled the apples but the original recipe doesn’t call for it and I won’t next time; apparently there is a lot of flavor and actual pectin in the peeling that would add to the mixture.  Some apple butter recipes would have you put the apples in peeling, seeds and all, do a first cooking, and then put the mixture in a food mill so it comes out really smooth.  This is fine but in the interest of time and because I don’t have a food mill, I used this method and it turned out really great. 

I plan on making an even bigger batch and pressure canning it so I can have some through the winter.  

 

INGREDIENTS

10 apples, cored and sliced

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup apple juice

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves (I used whole and removed them toward the end)

 

DIRECTIONS

Simmer everything in a pot until the apples are soft, most of the liquid has evaporated, and the sauce is thick and dark brown. 

Puree the mixture. 

Update:  I pressure canned several small jars of this with a 5 lb weight for 12 minutes (the same batch as the applesauce). 

Original recipe here
