Eggplant is one of those things that I buy now and then without a purpose.  Their gorgeous deep purple color just pulls me in.  I have good intentions because I know they’re good for me and I like the taste but I admit to sometimes having rotting eggplant in my fridge before I can figure out what to do with them. 

Finally, here is an eggplant recipe that I can get excited about.  This recipe couldn’t be simpler or quicker but is really tasty.  Even the baby liked this! 

INGREDIENTS

1 large eggplant

2 Tbsp flour

2 Tbsp butter

1 15-oz can tomato sauce

1 can water

1 clove

2 bay leaves

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup grated cheese (I used mozzarella but parmesan would also work well)

1/2 cup bread crumbs

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 

Cut eggplant in cubes.  Cook in boiling water for about 8 minutes.  Drain. 

Place butter and flour in a skillet.  When blended, pour in the tomato sauce and water.  Stir until smooth.  Add the clove, bay leave, pepper, onion, and salt. 

Allow the sauce to thicken (mine never did but I think I my mL to oz conversion was off and I got too much liquid).  Fold in the eggplant and pour into a 9×13 casserole dish.  Top with cheese and bread crumbs.

Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. 

I served this with potatoes and the leftovers over rice. 

Original recipe here
